You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 10, 2013.

49472db9668c9336f0ecd0e9155e128b

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.  2 Corinthians 1:3-4

on the day before we came home from our recent holiday, we arrived back at our holiday home, to find that it had being broken into.  some precious things were gone and our things touched, our sanctuary away from home invaded.

once some of the formalities were done with, manager informed (message on the answerphone), police phoned

we began the process of comfort.

i made dinner.  the kids favourite.  we turned on tv (we became addicted to icarly and it was the final ever episode!  yay for skytv)

we got blankets.  we snuggled.  we prayed.  we thanked God for His angels who were keeping guard of us and keeping guard of our things.  we asked Him to help us to sleep well and to protect us.

then once the kids were a bit more settled, i did what i do in times like this.

i went to the bedroom and i phoned my dad.

my mum and dad live in the South Island (of New Zealand) and we live in the North Island, so practically, there is nothing they could do.  some advice yes.  but there is just something about ringing my dad that does it for me.

about 5 years ago one of our housegroup guys died in a car accident.  i had to ring round his church friends, my housegroup, to inform them.  we all gravitated to church, where i began the process of helping to plan his funeral and liaison with his family as our pastor was away on a mission trip, due back in a few days.  i had to make breakfast for my kids, pack lunches, take my son to school and then go to church, to be there, to talk, to find hope, to find comfort.  before anyone arrived, i shut myself in an office and made that phone call.  i phoned my dad.

when tony’s dad died, my dad was the first one i called.

 

and with each of these phone calls i make, i know its something more.  i know its also a physical representation of how i find comfort, not only in my earthly dad, but in my Heavenly Father.  the phone call is like the symbolic outworking of what i am doing on the inside.  calling my  Heavenly Dad.  the God of all comfort.  the Father of compassion.  as i dial, i am really praying.  as i dial, i am really turning my heart to God, finding hope in His hands.

 

just like i need to hear the voice of my earthly dad, in those moments, i need to hear the voice of my heavenly Father.

 

sometimes it comes in a bible verse, or a page of a book, a blog post, an email.

sometimes it comes in a song.  or a timely hug from someone at church.

but i know He speaks.  i know He is with me.  He is the God of ALL comfort.

 

 

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.’  Matthew 11:28-29

 

The Lord is close to the broken-hearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.  Psalm 34:18

 

Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me. Psalm 23:4

 

Five Minute Friday is a feature over at Lisa-Jo Bakers TALES FROM A GYPSY MAMA blog.  i first read about it on my friend Fee’s blog and thought it sounded fun!

So, let’s do this thing. Let’s write.

Set your timer, clear your head, for five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right.

1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
2. Link back here and invite others to join in.
3. And then absolutely, no ifs, ands or buts about it, you need to visit the person who linked up before you & encourage them in their comments. Seriously. That is, like, the rule. And the fun. And the heart of this community..

OK, are you ready?

#FiveMinuteFriday —>Click to Tweet that.

*** as i’ve said i’m reading Holley Gerth’s book about being amazing already and so i’ve been following her blog – and love love love what she is sharing.  resonating within me.  this today went BOOM in my heart, gently, softly and with a yes claire. 

 

a4d5b7622e3271cfb2789488f6e76622

 

The disciples seem to scoff. “What do you mean? There’s a crowd around you.” But Jesus insists, “I know that power has gone out from me.” A woman steps forward to confess that, yes, she touched Jesus and she has been healed.

When I’ve heard this story told, the focus has always been on the healing. Yet in recent weeks my heart keeps coming back to what happens just before…to what Jesus experienced when someone touched him.

Power went out from him.

When Jesus in you touches someone else in a meaningful way power goes out from you too. And that is why you need rest and to be recharged more than you realize. You might have a heartfelt conversation that encourages a friend. Or you could show tenderness with one of your children that requires an extra measure of grace. Perhaps you navigate through a difficult ethical situation at work and manage to make a difference. In all of those, God’s power has gone out from you.

Yet instead of realizing that we berate ourselves for feeling tired. We believe we should be able to do it all, all the time.  That’s not the way we’re created. And when we live without recognizing that power is going out from us we wind up exhausted and burned out.

How have you been giving lately?

Where has God’s power been flowing out of your life to someone else?

What do you need to be recharged?

 

Holley GerthWhy you need to be RECHARGED more than you think

go along and read the whole post and let it touch your heart!

 

 

 

*** see also STRENGTH – You’re Already Amazing and EMOTIONAL MAKEOVER

praying_in_the_spirit1

‘Revival is more than a series of meetings, revival is cultivated and carried in the hearts of all who yield to the power and presence of the Holy Spirit to transform us to be carriers of His Glory wherever we go. Revival is not meant to be a temporary state of being. God is looking for revival people who will open their hearts to the King of Glory, and create a permanent dwelling for perpetual revival to touch the earth. You are called to carry revival! Step into His glory and let the river flow in your heart, your family, your city and your nation.’ 

Dr Mahesh Chavda

Follow One Passion One Devotion on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Worship Wednesday

1000 Things

May 2013
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031