You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 23, 2013.

The Lord is my light and my salvation;
Whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the strength of my life;
Of whom shall I be afraid?
When the wicked came against me
To eat up my flesh,
My enemies and foes,
They stumbled and fell.
Though an army may encamp against me,
My heart shall not fear;
Though war may rise against me,
In this I will be confident.
Psalm 27:1-3

 

179937_539152079482275_1475399258_n

*** i love this great WORD FOR TODAY by life fm!

 

Picture it one more time – a boat lashed by huge waves, and 12 frightened disciples who thought they were going under. They forgot to look for Jesus to rescue them. Yet as the night advanced and things looked hopeless, ‘… Jesus went to them, walking on the sea’ (Matthew 14:25 NKJ). Did they rejoice? No, their fear intensified and they said, ‘… It’s a ghost…’ (Matthew 14:26 NKJ)

Your fear can distort your perceptions and make you see the answer as just another problem. Often what appears a threat is actually a blessing about to be revealed. Look to Jesus in your time of fear; when He takes away the lesser it’s always to give you the greater.

Very often, God’s best requires facing something you fear. Jesus called Peter to come to Him. Deciding it was safer in the storm with Jesus than in the boat without Him, Peter took the plunge. But there’s always a moment after you step out in faith when you hear, ‘What if I’m not up to this?’ Peter heard it, and the waves began to engulf him. Panicked, he called and Jesus immediately rescued him. Peter wasn’t drowning; he was learning and growing! When you walk by faith, even your failures will lead to success. So step out with Jesus; He won’t let you drown.

So what now? Rely on God more today. Do something today that’s way out of your comfort zone – maybe it’s offering to pray for someone’s healing or giving your testimony.

 

 

**** last night i had a major freak out moment. i was totally spooked.  my husband and son are away on school camp so it is just girls week here, me and evangeline.   something happened and it made me feel very afraid.  i deadbolted the door with the lock we don’t use at night (because its key lock and the kids wouldn’t be able to open it in a fire… our usual lock is fine, but, i wanted to take extra precautions) i left the kitchen light on.   i checked everything twice.  paced.  and then i remembered, what is the psalm i’m so into at the moment.  psalm 27.  of whom shall i be afraid? so i spoke to my soul and i declared the reign of jesus over our home and that no weapon formed against us would prosper.  and i went to bed.    punching fear in the face.

Follow One Passion One Devotion on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Worship Wednesday

1000 Things

May 2013
S M T W T F S
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031