petrol-pump.jpg

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:28-31 MSG

My first car was a read diahastu charade.

She was awesome.  Yes, she was a she.   I didn’t know much about cars, but as long as she got me from A to B and home again I was happy.

As a first car she was faithful and gave me lots of memories, both of the good and not so good type.

There was the day the breaks seized and cost me LOTS.

There was the pole I scraped in the upper level car park building at work.

And there was the time I ran out of petrol.  On Waipuna bridge.

A lovely man stopped and rescued me, topping me up with just enough petrol to make it to the station nearby.

Cars need petrol in the tank.  Life lesson.  I have run out of petrol in the car that one time only.  The lesson took.

But how often do we run out of fuel in our emotional tank.

When the tank is full, we find it easier to find joy in each day, to laugh at the days ahead and cope with trials.

When it’s empty, we find it more difficult to cope with little things that come up or to smile. Our lives can get busy and we forget to refuel and refresh and then hit the wall.  We stop.  Or we spew out our frustration, usually on the ones we love the most, the ones we’re meant to lead or the ones we’re meant to serve.  That is worse than causing a traffic jam on the Waipuna bridge!

So how do we fill our emotional tank?

Firstly, recognize that filling the tank is OUR OWN RESPONSIBILITY.  Just as filling my diahatsu was my own responsibility, so it is my job to maintain a healthy level in my emotional tank.

Secondly, learn what changes your tanks levels.  Everyone will have different activities or things that fill the tank, and different things that will empty the tank.  Keep an eye on both factors.  We often cant completely eliminate drainers, but there may be some that can be avoided.

Thirdly, become self aware of what fills the tank.  Is it music?  Being outdoors?  Movies?  Coffee with friends?  Solitude?  Reading?  A walk?

I’m by nature an extrovert but have found over the past few years that time by myself fills my tank.  I usually carve out some time for watching some netflix, LOST or Jimmy Fallon clips on youtube.  Yes seriously.   I also love having a hot chocolate out with certain friends who are tank fillers, not tank drainers.    A great book also fills my tank.

I also need –  NEED – time with God.  Worship is a great connector and tank filler for me and I regularly get fresh worship to freshen my heart.  I also love reading great theology and leadership books or listening to podcasts.  These stir my hearts affection for God and keep me on fire.  Walking closely with God keeps my tank filling.   When I am tired and weary in heart, in body, in mind, when my tank feels empty, I NEED that time with Jesus.  He invites us in, in our emptiness, to find a fuel stop and to be refreshed.

“Are you tired? Worn out? Burned out on religion? Come to me. Get away with me and you’ll recover your life. I’ll show you how to take a real rest. Walk with me and work with me—watch how I do it. Learn the unforced rhythms of grace. I won’t lay anything heavy or ill-fitting on you. Keep company with me and you’ll learn to live freely and lightly.” Matthew 11:28-31 MSG

What fills your tank?

 

 

 

 

 

