photo-1431949662802-397529a8a873

“What will I be when I grow up” is one of THOSE questions.  Loaded.  Full of promise and potential.  Clouded in the shadows of time.  Heavy.

There seems to be so much pressure around this question.

As a child we probably all dreamed of being doctors, princesses, actors, astronauts.  There was no limitation.  I even know a child who wanted to be a dinosaur when they grew up!

When I was a child I dreamed of being a writer.  I would tap away on an old typewriter and write epic fantasy novels for fun.  In my early teens that morphed to dreams of becoming a journalist and I was privileged to have a number of articles printed in the town newspaper as part of a student contributors page.

As an older teen though and in my early 20s I felt like I lost my way in terms of that big question.  What will I do, what will I be when I grow up?

Being is the real hinge of that question.

We are human beings, not human doings.  What we do comes out of who we are.

“Being Awesome is about finding the core of who you are and what lights you up. Once you’ve discovered that, you can have a million different jobs.” ~ Jon Acuff

When you discover who you are and what lights you up your eyes become more open to the possibilities.  You see ways forward.  You make ways forward.

You flourish where you are because you’ve found your flow.

This is why I could work in a concrete company.  Not because I was passionate about concrete, but because I had discovered that people are what light me up and that job involved working with a team and connecting with people all day long.

Discover what you’re passionate about and then point yourself in a direction that empowers that to grow and flow.

What lights you up?

How can you be more awesome as that?

 

