comparison01b-690x5171

I went to bed the other night with a list of comparisons running through my head.

I’ve written on comparison before.  It steals your joy and rips you off.  It’s a brutal attack.

It is a trap.

Even as I re-read the words I have penned previously my heart begins to argue.

Yeah, but.

Yeah, but.

Yeah, no buts.

It’s unfair to us because it limits God’s plan for our lives. Comparison says to God, ‘I want to limit Your work in my life to this and nothing else. I just want to be like this other person.’

But God has an individual plan for each of us. His plan for you is greater than you could possibly imagine. Stop looking at His plans for others so you can walk in the plans He has for you and receive the blessings they bring. Joyce Meyer

It’s unfair to place limitations on myself based on my comparison to someone else.  It’s unfair to what God wants to do to and in and through my life based on the shadow someone else casts.  I am not called to fill someone else’s shoes, I am called to walk worthy the call of God for MY LIFE.

Therefore I, the prisoner for the Lord, urge you to walk worthy of the calling you have received Ephesians 4:1

I charge you to walk in a manner worthy of God, who calls you into his own kingdom and glory. 1 Thessalonians 2:12

God has uniquely wired and gifted each one of us.  He has created us on purpose with purpose.

Each person has their own purpose and their own aspects that God will work through to complete the good work He has begun, in our lives, in those we lead, in those we reach.

When I compare my life, my calling, my reach, I fence in what God can do.

I shrink back, into myself, and take my eyes off the great power that God has placed within me.  I look down, at my limitations I entrap myself, instead of remembering I am just a jar of clay so that the all surpassing power be shown to be of God.

When I compare my life to others something inside of my slumps.

God would have us instead keep our heart encouraged in His love and grace, in His power and His faithfulness.

Comparison robs us of that joy, encouragement and the experience of living by faith.

To silence the comparison I remind myself of these 2 things:
1.  I am called.  On purpose, with purpose.

2.  I am created.  On purpose, with purpose.

I am growing.  I am learning.  I am stretching.  But in all of those things I am completely His and complete in Him.

What helps you beat the comparison trap?

