Photo By Breno Machado

Have you ever had one of Those Weeks?  Capitals intended.

Where everything is due all at once?  When there are extra meetings and task lists for Africa?

Or you feel like you’ve been running a marathon in jandals and cant take another step?

Or where there is no margin or space in the week and you zoom from thing to thing?

You just sit down, and the phone rings, or the kids request something else.  Or you’re out of the essential ingredient for dinner.

Last week felt like that for me.

Or rather perhaps the last few weeks, but it hit me last week.

My body said ENOUGH!  Stop!  Breathe!

I ended up at my lovely doctor and he did the whole “if you’re in an areoplane and an oxygen mask came down… put it on yourself blah blah blah” speech.  I nodded.  Self care.  Looking after me.  Yip.

All the things I was doing were good things.  Great things even.

I have been working at church as the acting youth pastor and I LOVE IT.

I’ve also been doing a course on a Saturday since the start of the year and I LOVE IT.

AKA my brain has been learning lots of new skills, I’ve been doing homework and work from home , and loving it all. I havent had the catch up sleep on a Saturday.  But perhaps in the last few weeks it all caught up on me.

Last night in a leaders meeting my pastor shared Isaiah 40:28-30

Do you not know?
    Have you not heard?
The Lord is the everlasting God,
    the Creator of the ends of the earth.
He will not grow tired or weary,
    and his understanding no one can fathom.
29 He gives strength to the weary
    and increases the power of the weak.
30 Even youths grow tired and weary,
    and young men stumble and fall;
31 but those who hope in the Lord
    will renew their strength.
They will soar on wings like eagles;
    they will run and not grow weary,
    they will walk and not be faint.

It was timely.  In fact it had been a passage I had been reading and trying to live the previous week.  I was tired.  I was weary and feeling weak.

In a time like that the temptation is to throw in the towel and to completely stop.   But instead of stopping we need to change gear and “drive” in the strength of God.  When we are weak, He is strong.  We need to soar on His wings, not our own.  We need to run and live in His grace.

I paused.  Last week I paused.  I cancelled a few things and decreased my pace.  I went to bed early.  I took my antibotics. I gave myself permission to slow down, in order to breathe through that oxygen mask of self care, in order to begin flying again.

Be kind to yourself.  Be aware of your limitations.  But dont let your limitations keep you grounded to the earth when you should be flying.  Allow God to lift you up and find renewed energy in His presence to run the distance.

