On Wednesday I took my girl and some of the HKC girls to Cinderella.

It was all I wanted it to be.  Magical wonder.  Courage and kindness.  Happy ever after.

My heart paused though, as Cinderella descended the stairs from the attic, about to try on the glass slipper, appearing before her prince charming in tatters and ash.    She took a moment, gazed into a mirror and asked herself this poignant and powerful question.

Would who she was really be enough? There was no magic to help her this time. This is perhaps the greatest risk any of us will ever take—to be seen as we truly are //  Cinderella 2015

I am sure we have all taken a moment to ask ourselves this same question.

Are we enough?

Really?

Can I be myself?

Will I be enough?

Cinderella knew that her worth was not in her gown or fairness of face, but that her worth was in her heart, her character.  She had courage and kindness and THIS defined her.

She would not be defined by the names her stepsisters or stepmother called her.  She removed the power from their labels and walked in the power of her own identity.

With dignity and presence she appeared before her prince.  Loving him as he was, and being loved for herself.

Life is not a fairy tale though.  Yes there are princes, and sometimes nemesis, trials and tipping points that feel magical.  But we have to walk with that same Cinderella sense, to take the risk, to be who we truly are.

Who are you truly?  Will you risk and be that person?

