Costumes of the 1960's Batman TV series starring Adam West

I’ve always loved batman.  the old Adam West batman, not the ripped darkness of Ben Affleck or Christian Bale.

One thing that always intrigued me, apart from those gloves, was his bat belt, his utility belt, packed full of tools for any occasion, any emergency, any situation.

batarang’s, Grapple gun, Smoke pellets, Concussion mines, Sonic devastator – you name it.  its in there.

Batman was prepared.

the bat belt even has its own wikipedia page!

 

But it reminds me that as a dreamer i need to tool up.  I need to strap on my own utility belt.

I need to have tools at my fingertips that are keeping me accountable, that help me step forward, that are inspiring me.

And I need to keep on collecting tools, up skilling, growing.

We need our tools for when dreaming takes a dip.

We need them to make forward steps.

We need them to increase our skills capacity so we can step into our dream and LIVE it, really live it!

We need them to put some HOWS into our WHAT, and to make our goals and vision work smartly.

 

Books are one of my favourite tools of the trade.  I love to read.  As they say, leaders are readers.

This year I have poured through some amazing leadership books as part of equipping myself as an SAS leader.  I have read Start by Jon Acuff, 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen Covey, The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey, The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg, Creating Magic by Lee Cockerell, Boundaries by Henry Cloud, David and Goliath by  Malcolm Gladwell, Before Happiness by Shawn Achor, Deep and Wide by Andy Stanley and many more….

 

I also love podcasts, not just for the content, but for how people phrase and say things.  Two of my favourites are by Judah Smith from The City Church and Coffee With Christine Caine.  I listen to them not only for amazing content but as I said, for the phrasology and heart.

 

We’re incredibly blessed in this tech savvy age to have so many more resources and connections at our fingertips.

There is an app for everything.

Want to lose weight – there’s an app that will track your calories and fitness.

Want to write more – there’s an app to help you with your word count.

Need to create new habits – there are apps that encourage change and new habits.

Not to mention blogs and websites.  jon acuff’s website is on my utility belt.  WWJD?  yes, what would jon do?  I can look it up.  Ican even ASK him!  like HIM.  Things are a lot more personal now, the globe’s distance doesnt make a difference any more.

 

The people that we surround our life with are also tools as we dream and build.  They are our cheering squad, our mentors, our supporters, our encouragers, our wisdom resource.  Talk to people and be connected.  In this day and age you can also find incredible support online, be it in blogs or on twitter or fb.  I love my Leading and Loving It ConnectLIVE group for this very reason.   The people you surround yourself will either support or sabotage you.

Get connected.  Make it work, make it a tool on your utility belt.

 

And most importantly:

Never forget you are never alone and that the real power and the real strength comes from the Holy Spirit within you.

But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. 2 Corinthians 4:7

“Not by might nor by power, but by my Spirit,” says the Lord Almighty. Zechariah 4:6

Not that we are competent in ourselves to claim anything for ourselves, but our competence comes from God. 2 Corinthians 3:5

 

When I feel like there are no tools in my bat belt.  He is there.  He works through me.  He is my capability.

 

Is it really as simple as this?  Yes and no.

Be intentional about packing your bat belt full of things you can use.  Work smarter not harder.  Make use of all the resources out there.  Remember the wheel reinvention quote… you don’t need to reinvent the wheel – but make sure you’re using it!

 

So go on, strap a bat belt on.

 

what are your favourite tools?  

what encouragement do you give yourself when you’re pursuing a dream?

