Bless the Lord oh my soul...

 

I love the gospel.

I love who Jesus is and what He has done.

I remember on the day that God saved me I had sat under a tree and wept because I knew I wasn’t good enough to make my own way to heaven.  I was at a youth camp and they had told us to go and spend some time with God alone.  To talk to Him.  To pray.  I didn’t know how to do any of those things.  God being real was such a new concept to me, despite growing up in the catholic church.  My experience of church had influenced what I thought of God.  I thought He was far away, impersonal, wise and demanding.  But the God that these young people claimed to know and the God that had opened my eyes to His reality and grace was a whole new *being*.   I wanted to know Him, with everything I was.

That night the preacher told us that I didn’t have to earn my way to heaven, that it wasn’t about me being good enough.

It was all about Jesus.

It was all because of Jesus.

Jesus paid the punishment for MY sin and He made the way.

I was free to say yes.

This freedom means I still don’t need to earn it.  I still can never be good enough.

I am loved, accepted and welcomed, not because of my own merits, but because of Jesus.

Nothing can turn that love away from me.

Because Jesus loved me and died for me.

 

The Gospel of Jesus Christ announces that because Jesus was strong for you, you’re free to be weak. Because Jesus won for you, you’re free to lose. Because Jesus was Someone, you’re free to be no one. Because Jesus was extraordinary, you’re free to be ordinary. Because Jesus succeeded for you, you’re free to fail.  ~Tullian Tchividjian, One Way Love

 

Today, do you know that incredible love that God has for you?

