1533733_10152410103432694_4412998228129260923_n

As mothers and wives we have such a responsibility and a calling to set the temperature in our homes.

If we are calm, then generally our family will be calm.  But if we are anxious that anxiety spreads like a virus, disturbing the peace and inflaming our minds and hearts with worry.

If we speak gentleness and grace then generally our family will be grace-filled and less prone to flashes of resentment and angry mis-said words.

If we choose to embrace opportunity and to look on the bright side, to view the world through the filter that God is good and God is in control, then situations that could spiral us into negativity and doubt become opportunities to watch God work a miracle.

Lysa says it so beautifully.  I want my kids to head out the door full of peace, not the echos of my frustration.

Frustration breeds frustration.

Anxiety breeds anxiety.

Fear breeds fear.

Grace begets grace.

Kindness begets kindness.

Peace begets peace.

We choose.

We may not FEEL grace-filled, calm or kind, but we can choose our emotional projection so that those in proximity that soak in our mood and our words, are built up and loved, instead of caught up in the storm of our reactions.

Feelings are indicators, not dictators.  They do not have to control how I speak or live, especially within my family.

Now, before you think I’m a hybrid of Mary Poppins and Pollyanna, with a dash of Little Miss Perfect, let me assure you this is a work in progress in my life.  I am learning to speak grace instead of grump.  I am learning to hold my tongue instead of saying whatever comes into my mind.  I am learning to set my temperature.
Summing it all up, friends, I’d say you’ll do best by filling your minds and meditating on things true, noble, reputable, authentic, compelling, gracious—the best, not the worst; the beautiful, not the ugly; things to praise, not things to curse. Put into practice what you learned from me, what you heard and saw and realized. Do that, and God, who makes everything work together, will work you into his most excellent harmonies.  Philippians 4:8

 For the rest, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is worthy of reverence and is honorable and seemly, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely and lovable, whatever is kind and winsome and gracious, if there is any virtue and excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think on and weigh and take account of these things [fix your minds on them]. Philippians 4:8

#choosegrace

#choosepeace

#choosehope

#chooselife

