PERSPECTIVE & PURPOSE (1)

Perspective is a funny thing isnt it.

It’s so individual.

A friend of mine was told he is too young to pursue his dream, to step out into what he feels called to.

He is 32.

However at 38, a mere 6 years older, sometimes I can have the perspective that I’ve missed it, that I’m too old, that the window of opportunity I dreamed of has passed me by, like a breath of wind that I couldn’t quite catch.

He asked me, how do I gain perspective?

It’s a great question.  How do I gain perspective?

There are some days when it feels like there is none.  When I feel my stage of life and count down the years ahead of me and the moments I feel I should of, could of, would of  behind me.  I try and keep those days to a hush, not letting them have a voice in my identity and destiny.  Those voices are my fears and failures and though they make up part of who I am they do not define me.

I am defined by the promises and purposes of God.

I am called to know Him and make Him known.

I am called to connect and communicate Christ.

I am called to light a fire in the hearts of young adults so that they burn for Jesus and run hard for Him all the days of their life.

I am a jar of clay so that the all surpassing power is of God, not of myself.

I am part of the great story that God is weaving throughout the generations and the world.  He knows my story.  He knows my plans.  He knows my crafting.  He has fashioned me for such a time as this.

Every day is my moment.  Every day is my time.  Every day is my opportunity.

He is the One who opens the doors and creates a platform for me to stand upon and declare His goodness and greatness.

So I trust.

I choose not to dwell on what might of being but I choose to trust that today I am where God wants me.

I choose not to compare myself to anyone because the world needs my hustle, my voice.

When I was 29 and pregnant with my 2nd child I had a moment with God that settled this perspective in my heart.

I was driving down Union St late at night after church, despondent and feeling worn out in heart and body.

I had just completed a fantastic preaching course, but was now watching the other people in the course having opportunities to go and speak around New Zealand.  I however, was 8 months pregnant and felt like dreams were slipping by me, beyond my grasp.

As I drove down Union St I felt God very distinctively and clearly say “Claire, I made you a woman.”

Insert sarcastic tone here.  “Yes God, I can see that!”

“No, listen” came His gentle reply.  “I made you a woman”

In that second listening came a fuller understanding.

God made me a woman.  A wife.  A mother.  Pregnant.  Breastfeeding.  Preschoolers.  Caregiver.

All the seasons of my life were designed by Him.

He knew my path.  He knew my pages.   He knew my heart.

He was ordering my days.

I look back and I know that I would not be the person I am without being a mother.  Without being a mother to Caleb and Evangeline.

I love my life today.  I feel like I am living a dream I could not have dared imagine.

Perspective comes from knowing that God is good and great.  It comes from knowing that He is a good Father and can do great things.  That nothing is impossible from Him.  It comes from lifting our expectations to match His unlimited capacity and from saying Yes, God, here I am, use me.

 

 

 

