Going toe to toe with a giant is not a simple matter.  It takes guts to tackle the obstacles in our life.

The battle usually happens in our minds and hearts.  It expresses itself in our emotions and sense of security.

On that battlefield we can sometimes have questions and doubt.   Doubt can then make us feel like we’re not good enough, not faith filled enough, not blank enough.

However, doubt is NOT  always an indicator of your spiritual connectiveness to God.

Nothing can separate you from the love of God.  Ever.  No shame, no fear, no failing.  You are loved and accepted.

Just because you have questions God isn’t going to disown you. Doubt is not always rebellion. Sometimes it IS, but sometimes its not. God is not afraid of your doubts and questions.

Some questions or doubts we have in fact can be opportunities to strengthen our faith as we resolve the issues of our hearts.

Be intentional about resolving doubt.

 

Jeremiah 33:3 Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.

 

I became a Christian when I was in my last year of high school.  One of the subjects that I was taking was Biology.  Which included an evolution component.

At that point I didn’t have a theological position on creation.  I’d just got saved.

Some of the material we were studying made me ask A LOT of questions.  Questions about the validity and accuracy of the Bible.   Questions therefore about the power of God.

So I asked God about it. I went right to the source.

Later that day I was reading in Hebrews: Hebrews 11: 3 “By faith we understand that the universe was formed at God’s command, so that what is seen was not made out of what was visible.”

That was enough to answer it for me.

By faith I could trust what God said.  By faith I could trust that if God said it, I could believe it.

My faith was strengthened because doubt had led me to ask the questions.

Another time I had a couple of JW who were very persistent in visiting me and witnessing to me.

One of their tactics is to create doubt and then lure you over to “their side” since they will tell you the whole truth and nothing but the truth type thing. Again I didn’t have a response or answer.

I found myself in church the next day, during the worship time, thinking about my doubts and questions.

So I asked God.

IMMEDIATELY He answered with the most perfect Bible verse ever to overcome my doubts. Smashed them to smithereens.

My faith was strengthened because doubt had led me ask the questions.

 

YOU have to find the answers that conquer the giants in your life. Best place to go for the answers – go to the source. God. The creator of the universe. Who knows you inside out.

You know. There are times and seasons with God. Times when you feel really fired up and really aware of the presence of God.

But there are other times when God seems distant and you’re pressing in to get momentum. The reality is that we are in a spiritual battle and we live in a world that is fallen.

And the truth is that God will never leave us or forsake us, He is always near and His promises are true. We don’t live by feelings but we walk by faith. Don’t let doubt creep in if you’re not experiencing “happy happy joy joy” (you get me?) One of the greatest things we can ever doubt is “does God really love me?” we get that He loves the person beside you… you know what I mean. But does He really love ME???

John 3:16 for God so loved the world (that’s you… if you’re on planet earth, you’re part of the world) that He gave His only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Romans 5:6-8 Christ died for us at a time when we were helpless and sinful. For scarcely for a righteous man will one die; yet perhaps for a good man someone would even dare to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.

 

During times of doubt, when you’re facing a giant, talk to God.  He is never afraid of  your question.

What doubts do you need to talk to God about today?

