MOTHERS NEED GRACE – I sleep with The Pastor

Mom’s are real. We are awesome at some things, and failures at other things. We are happy, but sometimes are sad, frustrated, angry, anxious, and overbearing. But in the midst of all of that we are one big pile of love. We aren’t pros, and are still trying to figure out what this thing called mom is. Every day is new, and every child is different. God didn’t give us 4 of the same kid, so we are trying the best we can to figure out what and who to be to each child.

God didn’t call us as mothers to just get by. He has blessed us with our children for a temporary period to shepherd their hearts, and teach them what it looks like to love unconditionally, give more grace to the undeserved, and raise them up to be utterly in love with the king of kings. They need to see imperfect parents who need Jesus every day. They need to know it is ok to mess up, but Jesus is more than enough. They need to know they are loved by us, but most importantly they are loved by Jesus. And they need to know grace is free, and there is more than enough of it every second of everyday.
… go read more at : http://www.isleepwiththepastor.com/blog-1/2014/5/9/sh3woltrl15ijywrdoo8hv596bechf

 

 

 

So God Made A Mother – A Holy Experience

That God had said I need somebody with a strong heart.

Strong enough for toddler tantrums and teenage testing, yet broken enough to fall on her knees and pray, pray, pray.

Someone who knows that in every hard place is exactly where you extend grace, who looks a hopeful child in the eye and says yes, even though she knows every yes means a mess but this is how you bless, who has the courage to keep letting go because she’s holding on to Me.

So God made a mother.

“..Because God needed someone to love the least and the little into real whole people, and He knew that to love is to suffer so God made a mother.”
… read more at : http://www.aholyexperience.com/2014/05/to-all-the-giving-mothers-so-god-made-a-mother/

 

 

 

The Most Important Thing You Can Do for Yourself This Mother’s Day – We Are THAT Family

And the most important thing you can for a mom in your life this Mother’s Day?

The most important thing you can do for yourself this Mother’s Day: remind mom (even if she’s you) that what you do is important. The unseen, unknown hard work of motherhood is changing your kids’ world.

Even if no one recognizes it. It matters.

Small service may feel small, but size doesn’t matter. What you do matters. It has long-lasting, eternal significance.

And there isn’t anyone else in the world who needs to hear this more: Mom, your small daily acts of service, your mundane–it matters so much more than you think it does.

Because when we embrace our yes–as messy and undervalued as it may seem some days it gives us the passion to keep saying yes every day.
… go read more at: http://wearethatfamily.com/2014/05/the-most-important-thing-you-can-do-for-yourself-this-mothers-day/

 

 

 

Children Who Shine From Within – Hands Free Mama

“What’s your favorite insect?” my seven-year-old daughter asked as we took an evening walk on the first night of her spring vacation. “You can’t pick butterfly. Everyone picks the butterfly,” she quickly added before I had a chance to respond.

“Hmmmm,” I thought out loud. “I guess mine would have to be a ladybug,” I finally answered.

“Mine’s a firefly. I love the firefly,” she said wistfully.

We kept walking. Talking. Enjoying the rare treat of alone time—just my younger daughter and me.

And then:

“Am I okay? I mean, am I fine?” she asked looking down at herself. “Sometimes I feel different.”

I immediately stopped walking and searched her face. Without saying what she meant, I knew; I just knew.

I bent down and spoke from a painful memory tucked away since second grade. “When I was your age. I felt different too. I felt uncomfortable, self conscious. One boy said really cruel things about the way I looked. He said I didn’t belong. His words hurt me for a long, long time,” I admitted.

As she looked at me sadly, her previous words echoed in my head. “Everyone picks the butterfly,” she’d pointed out a moment ago.

I placed my hands on her sturdy little shoulders as if somehow this could make her feel my words right down to the bone. “I want you to know something. You can always talk to me when you feel different or uncomfortable. I will never laugh. I will never judge you or tell you it’s no big deal. I will never brush away your feelings because I understand. I remember how it hurts. And some times you just need someone to understand that hurt.”

“I love the firefly,” she had said a moment ago. I then realized I had something she could hold on to.

“You mentioned that you love the firefly,” I reminded her. “Well, I think you’re a lot like a firefly. You know why?” I asked.

The worry on her face lifted. She looked at me hopefully. “Why, Mama?”

“Because you shine from within,” I said touching my finger to her heart
… read more at : http://www.handsfreemama.com/2014/04/29/children-who-shine-from-within/

