d20f0908fc3875fefdf8bfd9f1932d97

Okay so we don’t have to be perfect – honestly. But practicing does help. Especially when it comes to talking to people about Jesus in our everyday world.

Practicing helps develop a confidence, not only in yourself, but more importantly with God. When you have seen Him do cool things through your conversations and your prayers, you’re so much more keen to do it again.

It’s like this crazy thing I did a month or so ago.

I went running. I know, crazy.

With SAS we’ve this term being looking at being physically “improved” might be the best word so to make sure that I didn’t die in front of these 20 somethings at the start of the year I got a headstart and started getting up early and working out. Once a week we do cross training – not with the cross of Jesus – but press ups and squats and running.

It’s been fun. Seriously, fun.

So anyway, one day I just had a crazy thought. Moment of insanity.

Why don’t I go for a run? So I did.

Donned my running shoes and gear and headed out.

And I didn’t die.

So I was like, hmmm could I do it again? And the next day.

Practicing makes it easier.

I died far later on the run the third time again. My legs didn’t seize up from the shock of this new behaviour. And I knew I could stretch myself.

Same thing with talking to people about God.

Practicing puts those evangelistic muscles into action.

And as you work them out more, they get stronger and more adept at flexing.

It may feel unnatural at first, like running for me, but we are CREATED for this purpose. And we are anointed for this purpose.

For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand that we should walk in them. Ephesians 2:10 Or run in them as the case may be.

