7fb150ee7cfc5e94c611c8f9432f8528

 

 

The Dead Battery Day – I sleep with the Pastor – Lori Wilhite

Wednesday morning. 6:45am. Last day of school. Finals week.

I’m not much of a morning person. At all. So, as usual I was running late to get my daughter to the carpool drop off. My husband had left at5:30 on an early morning flight driving himself to the airport since I really do not do mornings. The kids and I were on our own as I hustled them out to the car with backpacks and final test reminders.

We jumped in the car and turned the key. Nothing. Absolutely nothing. Seriously?! A dead battery? Today … of all days?!

I sat in the driver’s seat frozen. Not because of the dead battery, I’d accidentally left the lights on. I deserved that dead battery. I was frozen because it occurred to me that I didn’t have a 6:45am friend in town. You know what I mean? The kind of friend who will wake up to the buzzing of their cell phone on their nightstand at 6:45am, see that it is you, answer their phone, and come running to help. I didn’t have one of those. I didn’t have a 6:45am kind of friend. And I was strangely suddenly overwhelmed by the most oppressive sense of isolation that I’ve felt in years.

 

.

.

.

 

18 Things Highly Creative People Do Differently

Creativity works in mysterious and often paradoxical ways. Creative thinking is a stable, defining characteristic in some personalities, but it may also change based on situation and context. Inspiration and ideas often arise seemingly out of nowhere and then fail to show up when we most need them, and creative thinking requires complex cognition yet is completely distinct from the thinking process.

Neuroscience paints a complicated picture of creativity. As scientists now understand it, creativity is far more complex than the right-left brain distinction would have us think (the theory being that left brain = rational and analytical, right brain = creative and emotional). In fact, creativity is thought to involve a number of cognitive processes, neural pathways and emotions, and we still don’t have the full picture of how the imaginative mind works.

 

.

.

.

 

Has Your Humility Turned to Pride? – Jennie Allen – Catalyst

Ambition is complicated. When related to material things it sounds like greed, so we often take the idea of “bigger and more” in our lives and boil it all down to sin. We sit in the back like my friend Jamie, who aches to dream, but says, “It always seems easier to sit on the back row and kill my dreams than to fight the sin that may be attached to those dreams.”

We are afraid of big dreams because we are afraid of ourselves.

We are afraid of greatness because we are afraid of our arrogance.

And yet Jesus said of us, “Whoever believes in me . . . they will do even greater things than these” (John 14:12). It almost sounds blasphemous to do even greater things. We rarely say it, but when we start to have hints of great thoughts or visions, we often quickly dismiss them, afraid that we may be vain. Arrogant. Prideful. Or worse, simply that we would appear prideful.

I fight these wars in my soul nearly every day. For so long I just sat in the back, my dreams spilling out on the floor. I found myself over a year ago with a giant in the world of ministry, with a big vision (IF:Gathering) growing in my heart, I knew exactly what I wanted to ask: “How do you know if a vision is from God?”

She looked down, and then very directly and simply said, “At some point you look at the motives of your heart, and if they are for God, then just do it.”

It was simple and difficult all at the same time, because a convoluted mixture of motives undergirds every pursuit in life.

.

.

.

HOW TO HAVE A HEALTHY MARRIAGE AND MINISTRYLeading and Loving It 

     The key to a healthy marriage and ministry is to constantly ask and evaluate these three questions.

1. What is my capacity? What is my husband’s capacity?

According to Webster Dictionary, the definition of capacity is: the ability to do something : a mental, emotional, or physical ability

It’s important for you to have a realistic view of the amount of leadership responsibility you can handle in ministry and still engage mentally, emotionally, physically (and I would add spiritually) with your husband and kids. When a couple in ministry are both high capacity leaders, without knowing their capacity can cause burnout. Couples who have very different capacities unknowingly make one another feel defeated for what they did or didn’t accomplish. Knowing each other’s capacity allows you to set-up healthy rhythms of investment in each other and in ministry.

2. What season of life am I in?

3. What are my gifts and passions? What do I feel called to in this season of life?

 

.

.

.

 

How to Fight Feelings of Futility – Donald Miller

So here’s what I do during the funk:

1. I get some rest. I literally sleep as much as possible. The real problem isn’t that nothing in life matters, the real problem is my brain, which is a muscle, is fatigued and not functioning very well.

2. I don’t work. I give myself at least one, if not two days in which I don’t work. That’s a tough one for me because I get great joy out of my work. But when the brain needs rest, the brain needs rest.

click the link to read MORE!

