perfectblueeyeswallpaper11655

“What does my Lord say to His servant?”

We are created to listen. You are hard wired designed to be in connection with God. To hear God speak. He is not a far away God but a God who is near.

 

I am the Shepherd and my sheep know my voice. John 10

Call to Me, and I will answer you, and show you great and mighty things, which you do not know. Jeremiah 33:3

 

God spoke to Moses in the burning bush (Exodus 3), Habakkuk knew the sound of God speaking to him (Habakkuk 2:2). Elijah described it as a still, small voice (I Kings 19:12 ). However, I have found that usually, God’s voice comes as spontaneous thoughts, visions, feelings, or impressions.

Cultivating an ability to hear God speak takes time and effort. It’s something we do deliberately, not something we can cultivate on the run.

To cultivate an ability to hear God you’ll need to make intentional deliberate opportunities to listen. Sometimes that may happen here at church, or at home as you’re reading The Word and having some worship time. Sometimes it happens as you’re out driving. There is a particular corner and road that all I have to do is drive down there thinking about a problem and boom, God speaks. I’ve learned to keep a pen and paper in the car!

