744738458d1af088e1dd6312e8b7674c

 

3 Questions You Must Ask Before ReactingLysa Terkeurst 

While my initial thoughts when a conflict arises are usually those same old “I’ll show you” thoughts, I’ve progressed by not letting those leak into my reactions.

How?

By asking myself three questions:

1. What part of this issue can I own and apologize for?

2. How can I soften my heart toward this person so I honour them despite how they react?

3. If I knew this conversation was being video taped and then shown to people I greatly respect, how would this change my reaction?

.

.

.

Five Things That Cause Worship Leader Burnout, and One RemedyThe Gospel Coalition

In seminary, I often heard and read the statistic thrown around that a high percentage of pastors burn out and leave vocational ministry within the first seven years. I haven’t done any polling or data research, but based on my own observation and relationships (along with my own moments of wanting to throw in the towell), my guess is that a study of worship leaders would yield both a higher percentage and a shorter amount of time. If preaching/teaching pastors are like butane lighters, who eventually run out of fuel in their reservoir, then worship leaders are like old fashioned stick matches—they burn out almost as soon as you light them.  I’ve observed many reasons for worship leader burnout, but here are five.

THE REASONS

1. Inability to properly deal with criticism.

2. The performance treadmill.

3. Worship messiah complex.

4. Comparison with other worship leaders.

5. Poor relationship with your supervisor and/or lead pastor.

THE REMEDY

We could go on with more reasons and causes for worship leader burnout, but I am convinced that the remedy is the same for all…and it is entirely effective. The remedy is the Gospel, nothing more and nothing less. The Gospel declares that, when we hear criticism, whether it is true or not, we’re free to receive it because all the approval we need has been met in how God the Father sees us through the finished work of the Son

 

.

.

.

 

3 Keys to Keep Going When It’s ToughDream Culture

When you are on the journey going after big dreams, there are good days and not-so-good days. So how do you stay encouraged and manage yourself well on the not-so-good days? Here’s three things that work for me.

1. Be aware and acknowledge what you are feeling

2. Get with God

3. Do something active

 

.

.

.

 

9 Questions to Ask When Your Relationship Starts Getting Serious – Relevant

Questions to help you get to “I Do” instead of “What the heck am I doing?”

Is this “The ONE?”

When I was dating I remember constantly being smothered with that one giant question.

That was the point of dating, right? To magically stumble upon “The One” like finding the gold at the end of a rainbow that is being carried by a unicorn with leprechaun jockey.

But how are you supposed to know which one is the right one?

Instead of being constantly squashed by this huge question when your relationship starts getting more serious, you should ask yourself these nine questions instead:

1. Do I want to become like this person?
2. Am I attracted to this person? (and more than just to how they look?)
3. Do our core values and beliefs repel or compel each other?
4. Does this person challenge me?
5. How does their family communicate?
6. Do they love from their insecurities or do they love from their strengths?
7. Have you both tackled your monsters?
8. Do we enjoy doing the mundane together?
9. What’s their vision for the future?

 

.

.

.

 

Why you forget that God is goodJon Acuff 

Have you ever had a situation where you doubted God?

If you haven’t, you should probably read another blog. You’re going to hate this one.

What often happens is that we run into a challenge or a tragedy and in the midst of that time, we doubt that God is going to come through. We think he is not powerful or loving or any quality that might comfort us in that time.

In doing that, we forget all the other times he has been there for us.

Why do we forget God is good?

It’s pretty simple actually…

