d3f4a2b178165d5a2d7bc3594ac3ee42

This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers.  1 John 3:15

i find this to be one of the most powerful and challenging bible verses ever.

it packs such a BAM

Jesus laid down His life for us.

and we in turn should serve others and lay our lives down for them.

not our rights.

not our agenda.

HIS agenda.

HIS ways.

this is how we KNOW what love is… that word KNOW jumped out at me… we can KNOW beyond shadow of a doubt, we can KNOW by experience in very real tangible ways, we can KNOW and have complete confidence in the reality and fact of God’s love – we can KNOW what love is because Jesus demonstrates love in giving His life to rescue us.

 

 

 

This is how God showed his love among us: He sent his one and only Son into the world that we might live through him. This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice fort our sins. Dear friends, since God so loved us, we also ought to love one another.  1 john 4:9-11

this verse holds much meaning for me.  it tugs at my heart.

a week before one of our housegroup guys died in a car accident at the age of 19 he shared this as his WOW moment of the week.  he’d only been a christian about 9 months.  he read it out in our housegroup and shared how amazing that it was that God loves us first.  before we deserved it.  that LOVE is God’s choice and God’s heart and God’s character.  i read this passage out at his funeral.

but it also tugs my heart because it reminds me of God’s great love –that HE loved me FIRST.  when i was in rebellion and ignoring and rejecting Him, He loved me.  He conceived the plan for my rescue when i didn’t even know i needed a saviour.

we often ask ourselves – does God really love me?  yes.  He loved me first.  my life is lived then in response -  my LOVE is then in response to His great love.

and how is His love demonstrated?  in that He sent Jesus to save us, that He sent Jesus to die upon the cross to rescue me

and in turn, because i am loved, because i am born again and loved by Father God – in response i should love other people, love should overflow from me to others

even when it costs

and even when it hurts

because this is the demonstration that God has given us

