#yestogod – Our yes stories won’t always be big. Sometimes surrendering in the small things brings the greatest blessing. How has God been glorified in your life through a small act of obedience?

 

a6e93dbb4886050a13e9a0788c38dad1

 

God has called each one of us to be ambassadors and witnesses – to shine His light into the world so that people will see God in the darkness.  it is God who saves and draws people to Himself but He demonstrates His love and grace and lives out salvation in us.

God has qualified and empowered each one of us to do this momentous task.  It should be done every day in every conversation in every opportunity.  Its not something we turn off or turn on.  We ARE witnesses.  We ARE the light of the world, unhidden and shinning bright.

But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us. 2 Corinthians 4:7

 

How many times do we write ourselves off based on our past? Based on our flaws? Based on our limitations? Based on our brokenness? Based on our circumstances?  How many times to we disqualify ourselves because “we’re just a mum” or “just a WHATEVER”.  there are no “just a-s” in the service of God!  all around us are opportunities to say yes to God.

 

“i don’t qualify to be a woman who says yes to God.  look at how i acted: impatient, unkind, emotional, angry, unstable and irrational.” i am not a woman who should be labelled unable.  Lamentations 3 tells us “His compassions are new every morning.”  God’s compassions, or mercies are available minute by minute, step by step, decision by decision, reaction by reaction.  we don’t have to get bogged down and label as unable.  we just have to ask God for forgiveness and move on.  i am a woman on a journey of learning how to make sure my reactions don’t deny Christ’s presence in me.  I am a woman who says yes to God not because my emotions and reactions are always perfect.  No, I say yes to God because He is perfectly able to forgive me, love me, remind me, challenge me, and show me how to weather trials in ways that prove His Spirit resides in me.  i remind myself often that people don’t care to meet my Jesus until  they meet the reality of Jesus in my life. ~ Lysa Terkeurst 

 

 

“What is impossible with people is possible with God. We just have to believe that God has called us to go into the world in His name, and not listen to the crippling or even paralyzing labels and limitations imposed by others. We cannot allow them to daunt us.” Christine Caine  

Sometimes our offering – our life – our light – our opportunity – doesn’t seem like much – but God is at work in and to and through us. What can often look like lack or weakness can be used by God for His purposes and His glory. Wherever we feel too weak to fulfil our calling, our ever-redeeming God will make us strong!

 

Yes is not just for momentous moments, but for our every day life.    the mundane.  in fact, i believe to God, all moments have the potential to be momentous!  each opportunity to say YES is an opportunity to change the world, firstly my world and then the world around me.  

 

As i pause to help others, i am reminded that, just like Jesus, we are called to notice the people around us and to bring a touch of hope into their lives.  A person pursuing obedience is able to pause and touch those that He says need our time, in spite of busy schedules.  the obedience soul redefines who she is through God’s eyes and any hesitation to do what He asks fades way. ~ Lysa Terkeurst 

 

in my family i CHOOSE to say YES to being gracious and self controlled, instead of reacting and letting my emotions run wild into critical language

i can CHOOSE to listen to my son instead of overreacting and assuming

i can CHOOSE to make my husband a coffee at the end of a day, a small act of service to say i love you

in my workplace i CHOOSE to take notice of peoples lives and to get alongside them in conversation

in my community i CHOOSE to make conversation with the checkout operator, my spirit listening for opportunities to speak to them about Jesus

i CHOOSE to say yes to driving my sons rugby team to games

i CHOOSE to say YES to being my daughters bible in schools teacher

i CHOOSE to have coffee with a friend

i CHOOSE to ask questions instead of being preoccupied with my life

i CHOOSE to talk to people in carparks and shopping malls, aware of the nudge of the Holy Spirit

i CHOOSE to give and trust

i CHOOSE to carve out time for worship and prayer, to read my Bible, so that i am learning to recognize Jesus’ voice as He calls me to step out and so i’m learning what pleases Him in the choices i make for my life and heart

 

sometimes i find it is those small YES moments that can have the most impact… those moments that seem small but are filled with eternity

for me, its the nudge to choose a certain song at housegroup… that draws someone back to Jesus

its the choice of quote to text out to my housegroup #fortoday

its the reaching out to someone because they were on my mind, only to find out they’re having the worst day ever

its the meal made for a friend that comes at just the right time

its the bag of supermarket food given to a friend in need only to find out they had nothing and had been praying for a miracle

its lending a book that “was written as if the author knew my life”

to invite a friend to church, remembering my own eternity changing moment when someone invited me and i said Yes

 

revival begins with me.  with my yes.

 

 

its those times, i’m glad i choose to say YES to God.  and make me glad God forgives me in the times i let that nudge pass by me.  i don’t want to miss an opportunity.  i don’t want to write myself off because of the times i fall and fail.  i am flawed.  but God is good and great.  Gracious.  i am just the jar of clay.  saying YES to my Saviour day by day, moment by moment.  Privileged, humbled and grateful that God chooses to use ordinary broken people like me to do extraordinary things.    i want people to meet Jesus.

 

 

 

 

 

Blog Buttons

 

other great quotes from Chapter 4 of WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD:

 

whether i’m writing an encouraging note to a discouraged friend or lending a helping hand to a mother who is overwhelmed with the responsibilities of her life, I’ve discovered its so simple to bring the light of God into the midst of our everyday world.  It is in the small acts of life that He can be reflected so beautifully – taking a meal to a new mother, welcoming a new neighbour with an invitation for dinner, or even just smiling at strangers as we pass them on the street.  as i pause to help others, i am reminded that, just like Jesus, we are called to notice the people around us and to bring a touch of hope into their lives.  ~ Lysa Terkeurst // page 58 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD

 

yet, out of my brokenness, i have seen the true call of Christ… a call to love our neighbours in ways that may seem radical in our selfish, sin-soaked culture.  it has been a definite awakening for me, a challenge to throw off the status quo and to really make a difference in my world.  i am convinced that this is a picture of the true church, not a forced sort of Sunday bonding because we all sit in the same building on Sunday, but a true family built out of genuine love for one another.  and in those relationships, Christ love is so evident and so full. ~ Lysa Terkeurst // page 58 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD

 

radical obedience is not just following a list of right things to do.  nonbelievers can do that and call it “good”.  radical obedience is choosing to exchange what is “right” for God’s righteousness.  only the pursuit of God’s righteousness leads to His best.  and its there we find the source: “God made Him who had no sin to be sin for us, so that in Him we might become the righteousness of God” (2 Corinthians 5:21) ~ Lysa Terkeurst // page 59 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD

 

the woman who says yes to God longs to know Him as Lord.  A person pursuing obedience is able to pause and touch those that He says need our time, in spite of busy schedules.  the obedience soul redefines who she is through God’s eyes and any hesitation to do what He asks fades way.  ~ Lysa Terkeurst // page 60 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES

 

the love of Christ compels us to choose obedience.  being obedient is not our way of earning God’s favour; it is not the path to a more prosperous life.  God’s favour is with those who love His Son, and our promise of prosperity lies in what we have waiting for us in our eternal home. ~ Lysa Terkeurst // page 61 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES

 

the truth is the name of Jesus that causes us to pause and redefine ourselves. t he truth is the love that compels us to embrace the calling to be Jesus’ ambassador.  the truth is the freedom to soar above this life and learn to live beyond ourselves and our circumstances.  ~ Lysa Terkeurst // page 61 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES

 

409671

