d7d9ff22c1622895005675beb62c1181 (1)

As a mums group we’ve been doing a dvd series by lysa Terkeurst called Unglued. It challenged us to examine our lives, the way we emotionally reacted and responded to situations and people and to choose a new normal. It challenged us to think differently and to live intentionally.

Lysa says: A moment of conflict handled the right way is hands-down one of the grandest opportunities we have to shame satan back to hell. A Jesus girl who rises up and unexpectedly gives grace when she surely could have done otherwise, reveals the power and the mystery of Christ at work – in her life and in the world.

I loved UNGLUED and adapted 4 of her points for my message for our Daughters Conference earlier in the year but thought it was worth sharing them again.

Here are four real life practical things we can do to live this out:

  1. Choose a REPLY over a REACTION. A gentle answer deflects anger, but harsh words make tempers flare. Proverbs 15:1 now this one I need to practice all the time. When we did the unglued series we even kept a behaviour journal, to diary the times we “lost it”. Which I confess was a really good way to teach me to “pause” and have some self control, to reply instead going insanely mental at my children or husband. Because if I lost it… I would have to write it down!
  1. Choose FAITH over FORGETTING – how often do we forget the promises of God, we forget the things that God says about us – we have inside negative chatter instead of thoughts of faith – you know those thoughts that say, I’m not good enough, not pretty enough, not clever enough, not spiritual enough. We need to eliminate the toxic thoughts and let the truth flourish. See yourself as how God sees you. Chosen. Called. Empowered. Loved.
  1. Choose GRATITUDE over ATTITUDE – Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: rejoice! Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near. Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:4-7 – I can’t control the things that happen to me each day, but I can control how I think about them. I can say to myself, "I have a choice to have destructive thoughts or constructive thoughts right now. I can have an attitude and make things worse, or I can ask God for a better perspective, have some gratitude, rejoice and again I say rejoice, to help me see good even when I don’t feel good."
  1. Choose JESUS over JUNK – how often do we try and fill ourselves with something temporary instead of with Jesus? It might be food, it might be tv, it might be serial dating, it might be shopping, appearance, approval, success. In of themselves those things are not bad… they just may not be beneficial. The kind of love our souls crave will never be found in the things of this world. Lasting, satisfying love will only be found when we stop chasing others or possessions, and thirst for the things of God.
