This weeks challenge is to blog about a specific time God spoke to you and you had a “say what” moment.

 

420c8f81f80831a09c5ff17f84063035

 

As i sit in front of my screen there are lots of moments that flit through my mind.

the time i moved to Auckland with no job or no where to live.

the time i began street preaching on my university campus.

the time we gave our “baby savings money” away.

or to invite the lady mentioning on fb that they had just moved into the area and had kids starting at our school on monday around for a playdate.

the time i felt to stand in front of a particular shop at our local mall and pray and talk for a woman in a red jumper.  when i got there the shop didn’t exist on the mall map, but i knew if God had sent me there, then it was there.  i was there but a minute before the woman in the red jumper, and two friends, rounded the corner.

the time – which i wrote about last week – when i reminded an old lady that God loved her : {P31} Yes To God

 

but the most recent and out there time for me is when i said YES to being a bible in schools teacher.

Here in New Zealand we have bible in schools, for 1/2 hour in school each week.  in state schools. 

earlier in the year i discovered that Evangeline’s bible teacher had gone to the same youth group in the South Island as i, but only a few years before.  we had never met or crossed paths.  he then, knowing i was a Christian, asked if i would like to be a bible in schools teacher.  He had both Evangeline’s class and another year 3-4 class. 

Now, let me tell you something about myself.

I am passionate about young adults ministry and women’s ministry.  I love love love what i do.   and i fill my days/evenings doing it.

I have never felt called to children’s ministry. at all.  in fact we joke about it in our church, because i am married to Tony, who is so passionate about children’s church and has been serving in children’s ministry since Noah’s Ark.  okay, maybe not that long, but for maybe 20 years!

but so not to be offensive, i replied “i’ll pray about it.’ read as: no thanks.

as i drove home i felt God say “so you going to pray about it girl?” boom.  busted.  He so knows me.  i felt that challenge from God to go, and to really pray about it.

now when i am thinking about being involved in something, i pray about it and think about what my life would look like doing that.   i began to picture being a bible school teacher.  and then realized, i didn’t actually know what they did.  which led me to the next step… observing a class. 

as i left the school that morning after sitting in on the class, the class which blew me away, the class which had my 3 favourite bible parables as the lesson (guess what they’re about… lost coin, lost sheep, lost son… i so love lost things!) i had a lot to think about. 

i’m already busy.

i don’t have time in my week.

this eats into my rest time and rest time is important.

this is out of my comfort zone.

i don’t do children’s ministry.

i drove past a friend out walking.  i u-turned, pulled in beside her and ended up sharing my heart.

“make a list of the pros and the pros” she said. 

yes pros and pros.  pro for doing it and pro for not doing it.

but that got me in deeper… because what i line up is my need for rest and my busyness and insecurity vs salvation and children’s lives changed with the gospel.

i prayed some more.

 

unknowingly, until i read it again this morning, i lined it up with lysa’s five questions:

 

“FIVE KEY QUESTIONS to help me determine if what i’m hearing is from God or not:

1. does what i’m hearing line up with scripture?

2. is it consistent with God’s character?

3. is it being confirmed through messages I’m hearing at church or studying in my quiet times?

4. is it beyond me?

5. would it please God?”  page 27 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD // Lysa Terkeurst

 

yes it lines up with the Word of God.

yes it is consistent with God’s character.

yes it is confirmed.

yes it is completely beyond me.

yes.  yes.  yes, it will make God happy.

 

and so, “i’ve decided i will try to hear God’s promptings and remember my time is not my own” page 26 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD // Lysa Terkeurst 

 

that is what i decided too.  my life is not my own.  i am God’s.  God’s to direct and lead and use.  He will be my strength and shield.  He will be my rest and inspiration.

 

in case you’re wondering.  i said yes to God.  i am now a bible in schools teacher in training.

it was definitely  a SAY WHAT? moment in the calling but such a blessing to see things unfold.

 

 

 Blog Buttons

 

other great quotes from chapter 2 & 3 of WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD:

 

“Every day, God speaks to us.  Sometimes HE invites us to draw close and listen as He reveals Himself, His character ad His direction.  other times He calls to us to participate in His purpose.  Still other times HE simply whispers tor remind us of His amazing love for us.”  page 26 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD // Lysa Terkeurst

 

“There is no magic formula for being able to discern God’s voice.  We can elran to recognize it the way we recognize the voices of those close to us: by knowing Him.  and when we know Him, we can tell if what we’re feeling ld to do is from Him or not.  When God speaks to me it is a certain impression on my heart that I’ve come to recognize as Him.” page 26 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD // Lysa Terkeurst

 

“Unless we know scripture, we will not be able to discern whether what we are hearing is consistent or not with the Word.” page 27 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD // Lysa Terkeurst

 

“God will not say things that are inconsistent with who He Is” page 28 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD // Lysa Terkeurst

 

“Don’t look at your inabilities and dwell in insecurities.  Look at the Almighty God.  See this call as the opportunity to watch Him work in you and through you.  If you answer yes to the question IS THIS BEYOND ME? chances are God is speaking.”  page 33 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD // Lysa Terkeurst

 

“To this day i have to seek it by asking for the desire, discipline, discernment, direction and delight.  i ask for the desire to want God more than anything else.  I ask for the discipline to make my relationship with Him top priority.  i ask for the discernment to know the difference between my own thoughts and God’s voice.  i ask for clear direction at each crossroad in my life.  i ask for my relationship with God to be characterized by sheer delight rather than a sense of duty.”   page 38 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD // Lysa Terkeurst

 

“One thing you can be assured of is that God has already worked out all the details of what your obedience will accomplish – and its all good.  we need not fear what our obedience will cause to happen in our life.  we should only fear what our disobedience will cause us to miss.  the sooner this truth resonates in your heart, the quicker you can make peace with a command from God that you dont fully understand.” page 45 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD // Lysa Terkeurst

 

“God is not interested in half our hearts.  He wants it all, and He wants to remove the things that stand in the way of that.”  page 47 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD // Lysa Terkeurst

409671

