Claire McLean LandL

 

**** introducing myself for our Leading and Loving It ConnectLIVE Group (for more info about my group check HERE: Leading & Loving It ConnectLIVE)

 

Name: Claire

Where are you from: I’ve lived here in Auckland (our countries largest city), New Zealand but spent my childhood/teens moving around the country, from the tip of the south in a rural town to the top of the north.  New Zealand has a population of about 4 million people, 1.5 million of them living in Auckland. The LOTR was shot here in New Zealand and it is stunningly beautiful!

Where do you live now? Auckland, New Zealand

Husband and Kids: I’m married to Tony for 12 years and we have 2 kids, Caleb who is 11 and plays rugby and soccer and is into star wars, and Evangeline who is 8 in August and is a total girly girl, into ballet and princesses.

Church Info: We go to The River Christian Church.  We love our church and have been involved since it was formed. In fact the very first meeting was held in my husbands backyard – before I met him. When I moved to Auckland I found The River and loved it and have never looked back! My husband has being a leader in children’s church for nearly 20 years and together we lead a young adults (18-25yr old) housegroup.  So technically I’m not a “pastors wife”, I’m a woman in ministry married to a man in ministry. If that makes sense? My number one passion is our young adults housegroup, but I also lead a mums group and a mainly music group (community outreach group that involves music and dance for preschoolers), the greeters team, service leading, mentoring young couples and young women, and am on the women’s ministry team.  I also love preaching and while not on staff either Tony or I are usually active on a Sunday morning/evening in one form or another – which we love!

Work/Jobs? I’m blessed to be a SAHM, which means I also get to be involved in my school community and church groups during the week. Sometimes this choice is tough financially but we sacrifice to make it happen and now as the kids are older I’m grateful to the time I’ve had with them, and continue to have with them as well as being able to fill my “school hours” with church things, preparation for preaching/housegroup/events and the greatest blessing – time to pray and worship.

 

Now for the FUN stuff…

Hobbies/Special Interests: love reading and blogging, have become passionate about food and nutrition and thus baking and cooking due to some serious food allergies (gluten free) and read food blogs and recipe books for fun,  I’m obsessed about Lost (still), love nothing better than curling up with my hubby to watch something sci fi (star trek, fringe etc), not overly crafty but used to do design work for our church magazine which was an amazing creative outlet!

Favourite Scripture:  But we have this treasure in jars of clay to show that this all-surpassing power is from God and not from us.  2 Corinthians 4:7

and

Colossians 1:19-22 God himself was pleased to live fully in his Son. And God was pleased for him to make peace by sacrificing his blood on the cross, so that all beings in heaven and on earth would be brought back to God. You used to be far from God. Your thoughts made you his enemies, and you did evil things. But his Son became a human and died. So God made peace with you, and now he lets you stand in his presence as people who are holy and faultless and innocent.

Favourite Worship Song: I am loving Anchor by Hillsong (on Glorious Ruins) at the moment – so stirs my heart to remember WHO God is and that He is faithful!

Favourite date night: love going to the movies… but even just hanging at home watching dvds – intentional TIME is so good! With my food allergies it makes going out for dinner a no-go but even going out for a hot drink and having that time to talk is wonderful!

Hidden Talent? This year I discovered, accidentally, that I’m not a bad school boy rugby coach… the coach kept on not turning up and I was THERE so stepped in and got the boys doing skill drills and team work… who would have thought!

Guilty Pleasure: coke cola…. Person of Interest… Minties!

Passions: Knowing God and making Him known!

How long have you being a christian?  i became a christian when i was 16 and you can read more about it here: 20

Why did you join a Leading & Loving It ConnectLIVE group? This is my 2nd year being a group – my first as leader! I first discovered Leading & Loving It about 2 and a half years ago through their JustONE web conferences. It had popped up on facebook on a friends wall and I had some time, had a look, and got hooked! God so encouraged me and inspired me though it and it was so personal and relevant. I then followed their blog and at the September 2011 intake joined a group. I love knowing that there is a group of women that I can share my heart with, shout of for prayer, celebrate the good times and get advice in the rough seasons… people who are on the same page and “who get it.” Has been such a blessing in my life! Earlier this year the leader of our current group couldn’t make most of the sessions so I stepped in and here we are!

