i love lysa terkerust and her books – she writes in such a way that its like she is sitting next to me, cup of tea in hand, talking about her life and encouraging me, personally, to step into the adventure for my own life, to stretch past my own boundaries and fears into the plans of God, and to allow Him to chisel me, transform me and shape me.  To be secure in His love.  To live in His love.  To be active in demonstrating His reality through my life.  She laughs with me, hands me a tissue when i need it, she cheers me on when i’m having a win, and stirs my spirit to step out more.

 

So when i saw that Proverbs 31 were doing a study from one of her books WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD i was on board.  i want to be a Yes woman, a woman who surrenders and steps forward despite any restrictions into the plans of God, the divine moments where He moves unexpectedly and surprisingly, where He speaks and moves.

 

Lysa says on page 14 that “we can become so familiar with God, yet so unaware of Him.”

i don’t want that to be my life story.

i want to know God, see God, feel God, experience God.  i want to know Him and make Him known.

 

So the P31 study involves reading the book, chapter by chapter, along with the online study and questions and sharing opportunities on fb, twitter and blogging. 

Through the P31 Online Bible Study, What Happens When Women Say Yes to God, you will learn to:

  • listen for His voice and discern what He is asking you
  • see how wholehearted obedience honours His presence in your life
  • give yourself to Him and let Him affect lives around you in amazing ways

The Proverbs 31 Online Bible Study offers real hope for real life. It’s flexible to meet any schedule. It’s the perfect Bible study for anyone who can’t attend a regular Bible study. Our group is focused on study, but we also have lots of fun. You will receive daily prayer and encouragement by being a part of this active community at Proverbs 31 Ministries.

 

409671

 

Yes to God – Week One 

Share a time you caught a “glimpse of eternity” as you said yes to what God was asking you to do.

 

The shinning example where I have seen this work, is when I talked to an old lady in the supermarket carpark… and it’s the shinning example for me because it was just so breathtaking in its personal-ness and timeliness and, it’s just how God is…

After the weekender, on our way home, tony and I popped into the supermarket, to buy bread and milk, as you do after a weekend away. As we were packing our car up I noticed and was drawn to the elderly couple beside us and just really felt like I HAD to talk to the lady. She went and put her trolley back in the thingy and as she came back towards I stepped forward and said “hi, I’m Claire, and I’m a Christian  and I just really felt that God wanted me to remind you that He loves you.” That was all I had. A start. An opening. She took my hand, leathery and warm. I looked at her and depended upon the capacity of God through me. I continued, “and I feel that He wants you to know He is with you and sees what you’re going through at the moment. He loves you.” Simple. Nothing flash or remarkable. Until she squeezed my hand and her eyes welled up. “my best friend died this morning” she said. My eyes welled up. My heart stopped I am sure for a few beats.

God is so spectacular. What a moment in time, so crucial and special and significant for God to speak to this woman. Right there in her hour of need. Spectacular.

 

“Sometimes the God of the universe pauses in the midst of all His creation to touch the heart of one person.” page 10, WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD // Lysa Terkeurst

 

We have been positioned by God in our class, in our workplace, in our community interactions, in our families, as a beacon of light in the darkness. Every day there are situations in our normal routines that require us to be the light of Christ in darkness. 

I love how our pastor says “we are the senior pastors in our world.”  I am the senior pastor in my world. You are the senior pastor in your world.  You are the evangelist in your world. You can’t hire Billy graham to come have coffee with your workmates. You are there.

 

God was in Christ, offering peace and forgiveness to the people of this world. And he has given us the work of sharing his message about peace. We were sent to speak for Christ, and God is begging you to listen to our message. We speak for Christ and sincerely ask you to make peace with God. Christ never sinned! But God treated him as a sinner, so that Christ could make us acceptable to God. 2 Corinthians 5:19-21

 

For God so loved the world that He gave His only son, so that all who believe in Him will not die but have eternal life. And God uses you and me as ambassadors, as representatives, to proclaim this good news.

God’s plan is to rescue the world and the very agents of change to proclaim the gospel is you and me.

Rescued people. People who have experienced grace for real.

 

I want to be someone that says YES in my life to God.  to expand my boarders.  to step out into the adventure. 

 

“Women who say yes to God will see life like few others.  they are drawn in and embraced by a love like no other.  they don’t have to wait until the next time they’re in church to experience God because they sense God’s presence all around them, all through their day.  Instead of merely walking through the motions of lie, they pursue the adventure of the moment by moment divine lessons and appointments God has in store for them.  they expect to see God, to hear from Him and to be absolutely filled by His peace and joy – and therefore, they do and they are.” page 14 WHAT HAPPENS WHEN WOMEN SAY YES TO GOD // Lysa Terkeurst 

 

 

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders.
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever you would call me.
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my saviour. ~ Hillsong // Oceans // Zion

Blog Buttons

