46654546109900374_55zrYUE6_c

We live by faith, not by sight.  2 Corinthians 5:7

 

this verse reminds me of another E100 passage – E100:25

Now it came about when Joshua was by Jericho, that he lifted up his eyes and looked, and behold, a man was standing opposite him with his sword drawn in his hand, and Joshua went to him and said to him, "Are you for us or for our adversaries?" He said, "No; rather I indeed come now as captain of the host of the LORD." And Joshua fell on his face to the earth, and bowed down, and said to him, "What has my lord to say to his servant?" The captain of the LORD’S host said to Joshua, "Remove your sandals from your feet, for the place where you are standing is holy." And Joshua did so.  Joshua 5:13-15

 

Joshua lifted his eyes…

sometimes we need to lift our eyes from our circumstances and our feet and our hands (our works) and look UP to God.

we live by faith, not by sight.  some versions say we WALK BY FAITH, NOT BY SIGHT. 

we lift our eyes not to circumstance or what is before us and weighing us down, we lift our eyes not to discouragement and disappointment but we lift them up to God.  we don’t use our natural sight but we live with our eyes firmly fixed upon Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith and this is what keeps us putting one foot in front of the other, walking, by faith.

Life is filled with challenges that test our determination and our faith in God.  there are cities to conquer, walls to overthrow, sin to overcome, relationships that are strained, temptation to resist, flaws and shortcomings that threaten to derail us.  we are our own worst enemies, wanting to follow God but wanting to satisfy our flesh.  Yay that we have victory and forgiveness and acceptance and righteousness through Christ Jesus, who calls us to walk the walk and to follow Him in the way we live our lives.  He begins by renewing our hearts, and then from that flows our behaviour.  We are saved by grace, and then we respond with obedience.

 

in my night time reading i have just read a series of psalms that mention lifting our eyes:

Psalm 121:1 A song of ascents. I lift up my eyes to the hills— where does my help come from?

Psalm 123:1 A song of ascents. I lift up my eyes to you, to you whose throne is in heaven.

2 Corinthians 4:18 So we fix our eyes not on what is seen, but on what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal.

Colossians 3:1  Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God.

 

there is just “something” about lifting our eyes, about looking with a different perspective and vantage point. 

 

i will lift my eyes from my i cants, to God’s i can

i will lift my eyes from my limitations, to God’s nothing is impossible

i will lift my eyes from my flaws, to God’s gift of forgiveness and righteousness through Christ

i will lift my eyes from my loneliness, to God’s promise that He is with me

i will lift my eyes from my exhaustion, to God’s invitation to come

i will lift my eyes from my excuses, to God’s encouragement that i can do all things through Christ who strengthens me

we walk by faith.

