there is a powerful verse in Isaiah, in the Old Testament that says:

Isaiah 49:16  Behold, I have carved you on the palms of My hands;

When you read that in the context of this picture….

it makes you catch your breath… or it does me…

if you’ve read more of my blog before you’ll know that i totally believe that God is personal.  not indifferent or far away, but close and near and here and right with us and for us and his love is everlasting.    the Isaiah 49 verse goes on, after saying our names are written on teh palm of his hands, to say that we are continually and always before him.  always and continaully.  all the time.  forever.  now.  5 minutes ago.  in 3 days.  when we are awake and asleep.  all the time.

26740191507164173_XdIrAHsD_c

and he loves us.  he loves us.  he loves us.

the verse right before the one i have shared above (Isaiah 49:16) reads like this:

Isaiah 49:15  Can a woman forget her suckling child, that she should not have compassion on the son of her womb? Yes, they may forget, yet I will not forget you.

as hard as it is to imagine forgetting ones child it CAN happen.  people neglect their children, they abandon them, they give them up, the reject them.  but as a mother of 2 lovely children they are always in my heart and thoughts nad i carry a photo of them with me always.  when they are at school and kindy i relish my time alone, but part of me misses them.  i cannot forget them.  i cannot help but love them and have compassion for them.   but some mothers do.  that is their life and this is not to judge or condemn.  it is to contrast that God is not like that.

His love is everlasting.  his love is constant.  when all else fail and fade, he is there.  he is secure.  always.   his love and mercy are forever.

